>Schoolboy

>Guess who LOVES school?

IMG_3463

Every morning we eat breakfast, watch Curious George, and when it’s over I say “OK guys! Time for school!” And Wes JUMPS up, turns off the TV, runs to the back door and jumps around begging “BAAACK PAAACK” until I get it off the hook for him, then runs and gets in his car seat. With his back pack on.

When it’s time to pick him up they open the little half door and he comes walking out with his back pack on and heads straight for Charlie to tell him all about his day. I? Am chopped liver. Except sometimes he gets a stamp on his hand and I have to ooh and ahh over that before he goes to Charlie. But under no circumstances am I to make a big fuss about our reunion. Any attempt to pick him up, kiss him, or ask him about his day are met with whining and squirming. Puh-lease, Mama.

His teacher has had great things to say, too. He’s a GREAT eater! (What?) He loves to participate in all the activities!! (Are you kidding me?) AND now when I try to cajole Charlie into picking up before dinner Wes is quite the happy helper. Help? Clean up? WILL I GET A STAMP ON MY HAND??

And then he falls asleep in the car before we leave the parking lot. Every single time.

Tomorrow they don’t have school. I think I’ll have Ryan break the news.

8 Responses to “>Schoolboy”


  1. 1 LL September 9, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    >Aw, I love it! And I love the perspective on the picture where the backpack is roughly equal to Wes's size 🙂 Or maybe it really is… which is even better, really.

  2. 2 Alyssa September 9, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    >LOL! I had to laugh at how big that backpack is on him!! Glad he's loving school 🙂

  3. 3 Becca September 9, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    >The backpack cracks me up too! It seems so heavy (extra clothes, diapers, wipes, and lunch), but so far he hasn't toppled over backwards.

  4. 4 Sarah September 9, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    >LOVE the back pack!So glad he is having a fantastic time– I LOVE picking Harry and Jack up from school.

  5. 5 Amy September 9, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    >Awesome!I would stay far away tomorrow after Curious George. They're going to mutiny.

  6. 6 Kyla September 10, 2010 at 2:07 am

    >That is great!! It kind of looks like Wes could fit inside his own backpack. LOL.

  7. 7 AJU5's Mom September 11, 2010 at 2:48 am

    >I think kids in backpacks are both cute and helpful. The less I have to carry – the better!Glad everything with school is going well for them. Hopefully one day I can enjoy some of that – like when AJU5 stops screaming when I leave her anywhere!

  8. 8 Rima September 13, 2010 at 2:06 am

    >Oh, my gosh, that is so stinkin' sweet! I hope he always love it, that much, right?


Leave a comment




Flickr Photos