>Who knew?

>

I started working again today. It was only for a couple of hours, but I kind of liked it. It felt good like exercise feels good after a few years months away–tiring but challenging and motivating and right. Don’t tell anyone. This is terrible news for the part of my brain that has been procrastinating writing an inquiry letter to a former advisor for two months because if I want a job in January, I’m going to have to, like, find one. And to do that I’m going to have to drum up some professional confidence and some ability to have a conversation beyond “What does a cow say? Good!!”

Admittedly, two hours by myself, with my shirt on, is really a huge luxury anyway these days, whether I actually enjoyed the work or not.

Of course, coming home was pretty awesome too.

8 Responses to “>Who knew?”


  1. 1 SSU October 19, 2008 at 3:45 am

    >Glad you are finding a good balance for now between work and being a mom.

  2. 2 abdpbt October 19, 2008 at 4:26 am

    >Yep, nothing like having a newborn to make you feel like doing the dissertation again! BTW, your older son looks a lot like my son, it’s eerie. Have you been taking him to the park when I’m asleep or something? 🙂

  3. 3 Sarah October 19, 2008 at 11:55 am

    >Ha! I love this post. 2 hours with your shirt IS a luxury! And they are adorable at the park– adorable.Good luck on the job hunt!

  4. 4 Leslie October 19, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    >Oh…look at your boys! So cute 🙂

  5. 5 Kyla October 19, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    >Oh yeah, even a little bit of time away can be a luxury and it makes coming home even better. Funny how that works.

  6. 6 apathy lounge October 19, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    >Just like a good body stretch after sitting for a long time, the brain needs the same kind of exercise. Glad you’re finding the balance. It’s so important.

  7. 7 sarah October 20, 2008 at 4:17 am

    >Yay for balance and happiness!! I love that picture of the boys!

  8. 8 Andrea October 21, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    >You can do it!! And don’t let those bookstore teenagers get you down. Remember you are twentysomething and married. You can have all the beer and cigarettes and sex you want, whenever you want it.


Leave a comment




Flickr Photos