>Drinking the Koolaide

>I never thought I’d be the kind of mother to get caught up in all the preschool/daycare hysteria you hear about. After all, we live in a much more forgiving and laid back place than New York City, home of the “preschool admission consultant” and the crazy waiting lists. But today, in what will be the first of many situations in which I will suck it up and do the best thing for my family, I stood in the lobby of the (really really wonderful) daycare by our new house and filled out TWO waiting list applications.

The first was for Charles Lastname birthdate 11-2-06.

The second was for “Baby Lastname” birthdate 9-30-08.

Then I went and got a pedicure while I verbally abused my nanny on my cell phone, just for the heck of it.*

*just kidding, I don’t have a nanny and I paint my own toes

(Still no decision whether to work or not, but I’m glad I got started on this childcare business early)

9 Responses to “>Drinking the Koolaide”


  1. 1 Marianne March 31, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    >You, my friend, are smart. We started daycare hunting in September for a mid-April admission. The earliest wait list we’re on is for the end of June. One has an opening in the infant room next June. You know, when my infant will be a toddler.Good luck to you, Becca — whatever you decide.

  2. 2 Liz April 1, 2008 at 2:14 am

    >DUDE!You drank it, fo sho.(I can’t believe that we had to register Sam for school in JANUARY. For September enrollment. And? We were LATE?!)

  3. 3 Kyla April 1, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    >Step away from the Koolaid, my friend. LOL. The ‘burbs..they have gotten you. ;)KayTar just went and found her little firetruck stacker, because she saw it in your banner. LOL.

  4. 4 Sarah April 1, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    >Ha! I started applying to our top choice preschool for FALL OF 2009, so yeah, I totally drank it, too. But there are only so many spots in the Spanish room…

  5. 5 My Buddy Mimi April 1, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    >When we moved in February, we based the entire thing around finding a daycare center that we liked and had openings for both kiddos. Once that was all settled we found a place to live (much easier than finding daycare) that worked for us. With such a short timeline, I don’t think we would have been able to do it any other way.

  6. 6 Anonymous April 2, 2008 at 12:29 am

    >I have the number of an awesome addition & subtraction tutor if you need it. I hear the kindergarten entrance exams can make or break you.Jk 😛 actually this post terrified me far, far more than the exploding diaper one…-godmother

  7. 7 Pete the Brit April 2, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    >Hey Becca….great to see your blogP_ta!

  8. 8 Rima April 2, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    >You’re not drinking Kool-Aid, you’re being smart and pro-active! I totally lucked out that there happened to be a spot for a girl available at the V-meister’s Montessori school when I applied in March of last year. Some of the places I contacted had already been filled in December of the year before!

  9. 9 apathy lounge April 3, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    >Trust me. If you ever do start having someone else paint your toes you’ll never stop. It’s THAT addictive. And relaxing.


Leave a comment




Flickr Photos