Darn it, now I want a hot dog.

Last summer Ryan and I sat on chairs in our backyard cooking hotdogs on the grill (then using the buns to pick them up and eat them without even getting up from our chairs) and talking about the new little life that would soon be in our home and how next summer we would have a tiny little molded plastic baby pool that he could play in. I envisioned having friends over and we would sit by the pool drinking Crystal Light with our feet in the cool water while Charlie played and looked adorable.

But because of the way this summer has gone we forgot about the baby pool until September and instead gave him a nice cake pan and a hose to play with.

*Note his gameday attire (minus one pair of red shorts that were taken off in the foolish hope that he would take a nap).

**These pictures were taken before victory was so callously ripped from the hands of my beloved University Football Team by the evil Football Team from Another University (and also before my beloved University Football Team forgot to come back after halftime, but that’s neither here nor there. But really.) I don’t want to talk about it.

IMG_3185
Blissed out baby. If he had a favorite hobby, it would be “splashing”. Later he would fall asleep before his head even touched the crib mattress.

IMG_3178
DRINK! DRINK! DRINK! DRINK!

IMG_3197
New botanical print diapers (with REAL leaves and grass!) now available at a retailer near you!

Blow Bubbles Like Ths
All things that are like spitting make Charlie laugh hysterically. The only one laughing while I showed Charlie how to blow bubbles in the water was Ryan. And also, grassy hose water tastes exactly the same as it did twenty years ago at the end of the Slip ‘n Slide. Delicious.

3 Responses to “Darn it, now I want a hot dog.”


  1. 1 Kyla September 23, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Gosh, he’s cute. And when we get the kids together for a playdate at some point, there will have to be water involved. KayTar’s favorite hobby is also splashing. I think that is why she humors us by participating in OT sessions, she knows that if she does, she gets to “wash” her hands at the end and soak us all. LOL.

  2. 2 wordgirl September 24, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    Ah…the lovely days of hose drinking. Unfortunately, I spied one of our cats drinking out of one end of our hose. Kind of ruined if for me given that I know where my cats’ mouths have been.

  3. 3 Sarah September 24, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    so cute– and hot dogs sound pretty good to me, too. i really like the one of him drinking from the hose– just so adorable!


Leave a comment




Flickr Photos