>Fortunately, ankle bones are not required for typing.

>Because I still can’t see them. They might be gone for good this time. At least I can’t feel the fluid sloshing around in there like after that night I spent playing pool and drinking fake coctails made from club soda and cranberry juice when I was pregnant with Charlie. Klassy.

Today’s two meetings went well. The one this morning with my committee, including Dr. G from Math, went even better than expected. We were talking about what I could do to verify the data from one part of my project and inadvertantly solved a separate problem I’ve been struggling with for a few months. Dr. S gave me a twenty-five page packet of Mathcad calculations that gives me step by step instructions on how to do what I need to do. Bonus! I was so pleased by the development that I didn’t even roll my eyes when Dr. G and Dr. S walked out of the room making plans to meet for dinner leaving me to climb onto the conference room table to turn off the projector. Fortunately I was wearing sneakers today.

Then I ran into our department chair in the hall and said hello and he said “Hi Becca! Dr. Advisor says you’ve been making GREAT progress!” I nearly snorted. He continued “Well I guess you’re not supposed to know he feels that way.” Ahhh, the game continues.

But the best part of my week was back in South this evening when Ryan and I got to my aunt and uncle’s house where we were meeting my parents with Charlie. He looked at me, took a couple of shy steps toward me, and then ran into my arms. When it was time to eat dinner my mom strapped him into his booster and he patted the seat next to him and said “Mama!” This morning Ryan said he looked all over the bathroom for me, in the shower, in the closet, before deciding I must be downstairs making breakfast. I don’t think he was too disappointed when my mom was there instead, waiting for him with breakfast tacos.

I need to go to bed. I am no longer accustomed to prolonged periods of concentration, answering hard questions, walking all over campus, and hauling around my backpack and I’m embarassingly tired.

7 Responses to “>Fortunately, ankle bones are not required for typing.”


  1. 1 apathy lounge July 2, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    >Cut yourself some slack! You’re growing another human inside you WHILE taxing your brain at the same time. Of course you’re tired. I prescribe an ofternoon of napping…followed by a nice dinner.

  2. 2 Steph July 2, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    >I’m glad your trip was so productive. It was so great to see you!

  3. 3 Anonymous July 2, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    >Congrats on your successes! It was so nice to see you and meet your adorable family in Philly. Maybe one of these summers we’ll all make it to Maine at the same time! All my best to you and yours.Lindsay

  4. 4 mbc July 2, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    >Becca! I hope “making great progress” can keep you going for a while. You can do this!

  5. 5 Sarah July 2, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    >Glad you had a productive visit– sounds like you are making awesome progress!!

  6. 6 Ramadan krasniqi 2013 July 27, 2013 at 9:54 pm

    If you are going for best contents like me, simply go to see
    this web site all the time for the reason that it
    presents quality contents, thanks

  7. 7 Carlos July 27, 2013 at 10:03 pm

    It’s amazing designed for me to have a site, which is beneficial for my experience. thanks admin


Leave a comment




Flickr Photos